The Coasters of Catan

My boyfriend and I regularly go to a friend’s home to play board games and video games. We’ve often said that our friend needs some coasters to protect his furniture and that we should probably be the ones to give them to him since we so regularly invade his home. I decided I should make him some nerdy coasters to suit our nerdy nights and so I went looking for suitable fabric. It was then that I managed to find some fabric on Spoonflower inspired by The Settlers of Catan.

The Settlers of Catan is a great board game that was the star when we began our regular board game nights. We love it! Click the link and take a look, you can also play it electronically through a number of media 🙂

The board in The Settlers of Catan is made of of numerous individual hexagonal pieces and the game revolves around earning, trading for and using resources.  The design contributor on Spoonflower combines these two elements, and the result is a pattern of hexes, each representing a basic motif version of a resource (brick, wood, wool, grain or ore).

The fabric came with both small hexes and larger hexes and I was really pleased to discover that the large hexes were pretty much coaster sized!

This is the result:

20140503_171438

20140503_171450

And I also knocked together a cute little box for him to keep them too

20140503_172441

Nerds just wanna have fun!

Fabrice found here

Leave a comment