The Coasters of Catan

It’s taken me a while to post this one. Firstly I had to wait until I had given the gift to the recipient, then I finally did and just straight up forgot to post about it. Woops.

My boyfriend and I regularly go to a friends to play board games and video games.  We’ve often said our friend needs some coasters to protect his furniture and we should probably be the ones to give them to him since we so regularly invade his home. I decided I should make him some nerdy coasters to suit our nerdy nights and went looking for suitable fabric. It was then that I managed to find The Settlers of Catan inspired fabric on Spoonflower.

The Settlers of Catan is a great board game that was pretty much the beginning of our regular board game nights. We love it! Click the link and take a look, you can also play it electronically through a number of media 🙂

The board in The Settlers of Catan is made of of numerous individual hexagonal pieces and the game revolves around earning, trading for and using resources.  The design contributor on Spoonflower combines these two elements, and the result is a pattern of hexes, each representing a basic motif version of a resource (brick, wood, wool, grain or ore).

The fabric came with both small hexes and larger hexes and I was really pleased to discover that the large hexes were pretty much precisely coaster sized!

This is the result:

20140503_171438 20140503_171450

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And I also knocked together a cute little box for them too

20140503_172441

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nerds just wanna have fun!

Fabrice found here

Leave a Reply

