Tiny terrarium set

Apologies for the absence! I have been extremely busy and also quite unwell. I am having some minor surgery in July which might help. All has been explained on my other blog here.

But the main reason I am posting today is to share a little project I recently completed! It’s certainly not sewing related and it is barely even ‘crafty’ but its definitely creative πŸ™‚ I made a tiny terarrium teapot set! I spotted the cutest tea pot stand in the BigW Mother’s Day catalogue and I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. Take a look!

Bits and pieces

Bits and pieces

Tillandsia (air plant) in teapot and front left jar

Tillandsia (air plant) in teapot and front left jar

Fly traps in front right jar, sedum in back left, succulent in back right

Fly traps in front right jar, sedum in back left, succulent in back right

Isn’t it cute! The succulent, sedum and the fly trap may not cope well in the jars due to lack of drainage so I’m monitoring them closely. The air plants will be totally fine. I think the teapot is a little cluttered so might remove some of the rocks and add more sand. This is my first green thumbed thing since a huge heat wave killed my only ever herb garden in Sydney in 2009 so I am hoping the teapot fares better πŸ™‚

I took inspiration and advice from here:

http://thehipsterho.me/2010/01/how-to-make-a-tiny-terrarium-in-a-light-bulb/

In other news, I bought a new chair and would love to crochet a blanket for it. I might buy some wool and print off some instructions and make a project of it over the two weeks I will have off to recover from surgery.

Any simple crochet instruction sites I could look at? I did a little bit of crochet many years ago but will have to relearn πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

