Sew busy!

Oh my goodness I am just a sucker for punishment I think!

Things are just so busy, and I keep piling it all on lol.

Last night I made significant progress with my dress. It was quite late so no pics, but essentially the bodice is now attached to the skirt and it is actually resembling a dress…who’d have thought it! I am pleased with the fit of the bodice, though it remains to be seen if this dress suits my shape as much as I would like. Regardless, it will be worn Friday week for the awards ceremony I am attending, so as long as it looks half decent and put together then I don’t really mind. Pics soon!

I am very excited for this weekend as it is the Newcastle Craft and Sewing Show, my first since I started sewing! I am scraping money from places I shouldn’t just to ensure I get the most out of this and I can’t wait! The only ‘restriction’ I have placed on myself is that if I buy any supplies they should be for my Christmas present making plans or for my planned yoga cushions for me and the boy, NOT for new projects to add to the list. That means NO buying stuff for making my first quilt. No time for that this year Dani! There will be, however, no restriction on fun learning workshops and “I ❀ Sewing” tshirts though. Girls gotta learn new things and announce her passions in her attire!

And yes, I am planning to make some yoga cushions, as I have gotten more heavily into Kundalini Yoga to combat my headaches and assist my climbing. I ordered a pattern online for making several yoga accessories and am impatiently awaiting it’s arrival.

In other news, I started Busy Bees BookclubΒ on Facebook (see what I mean about taking things on? lol). The URL might say “busygirlsbooks” but it is for all, not just women (unchangable error…woops), so please request an invite if you would like! Basically a new book will be chosen for each 6 week block to be read and discussed by the group. It’s for people too busy to join a face to face book club, but keen to find motivation to read more!

On to charity, I am going to be participating in the Great Strides Walkathon for Cystic Fibrosis. Please consider sponsoring our team (Team Flynn 2012)!

And finally, back to sewing news, once my dress is finished (hopefully this weekend or I am in serious trouble) I have GOT to make curtains for my Step-Dad’s caravan. He bought the fabric ages ago and I feel so slack! Admittedly, I have been dealing with doctors and pain due to migraine and headache, which has seriously hindered my active sewing ability. But I am seeing improvement in that area, so time to get cracking!

What are you looking forward to, and do you take on too much?

I work full time and need to accept it I think haha.

xo

5 thoughts on “Sew busy!

    • Of course you can! Try clicking the link above and requesting an add. If that won’t work, feel free to FB message me at facebook.com/daniellehere and I will add you myself πŸ™‚

      The first book will be Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. I chose it as alot of people have already read it and it makes a good ‘trial run’. All following books will be chosen from group suggestions, and we hope to pick the next one nice and early so people can get their copies πŸ™‚

      • sounds great! I requested πŸ™‚ I think I may be the last person on earth who hasn’t read Little Women, but I want to so this is perfect! When is my due date? πŸ™‚

      • You’re all added! The info is all over the wall so just have a read when you get a chance, but in short we are starting with Little Women on Monday πŸ™‚

      • Oh and I should note that I am in Australia and so is most of the group. When I say Monday, that will probably be your Sunday πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

