Don’t panic yet

The last week or so I have lost my sewjo (love that term, used often by the ladies of The Sewing Library), and as such there is no actually sewing to blog about 😦 I’ve told myself “Don’t panic yet!” and I guess I am not too worried, just frustrated.

A big part of my lack of motivation has been the headaches and neck and shoulder pain I have been experiencing the last few days. It’s actually not an injury or a problem just tension from my new 2-3 day per week indoor climbing routine. My body is adjusting, and I also have been slack and not done any yoga to release the muscular tension. As a result this last weekend I have slept terribly each night and woken with a headache each day. Waking with a headache is one of the worst feelings, is it not? But if I can push through this and get fitter it will all be worth it 🙂

Anyway, so as a result of all that no sewing was done this week or this weekend at all, unless you include sewing 5 buttons to a top. I don’t include it as I bought the top this weekend so the sewing did not dent my list of ‘sewing to do’ at all. I did get to enjoy a trip to Spotlight during which I bought the pattern Vogue 1102 for the dress I am planning to make, as well as some calico to make a toile.

In the spirit of list making, as I do find that clears my head, here are the projects I need to motivate myself to move forward with:

  • Mending & refashioning (the least inspiring, but will dent my list considerably)
  • Finish ipod cover project for little sis
  • Little pouches to practice zippers
  • Make ‘writer’s bag’ satchel for me
  • Make pyjamas for me
  • Make toile for pretty dress for me

My real list is much bigger but if I can focus on these things I think I can move forward a bit more practically!

Despite the setbacks, I was cheered up considerably by Raid My Wardrobe yesterday. Any ladies in Newcastle or Sydney, Australia need to check this website out. It is a great event where you will find several dozen stalls of only women’s preloved fashion at fabulous prices. Best of all is that much of it is high end, designer wear! In the past I have picked up:

  • Guess heels $40
  • Cue dress $35
  • Top Shop cherry red wool winter coat $22
  • Converse sneakers $10

And endless tops, dresses, skirts, handbags and shoes for $5-15 max (its only the designer brands that go higher.

This time around the event was absolutely crazy as the rain closed down several outdoor markets and drove everyone to RMW, but I still managed to score 2 skirts, a top, a dress/top, a necklace/bracelet set, a brooch, and the cutest, comfiest heels ever all for $30!

How cute is the necklace I bought!

The next event is in October in Newcastle and there will be a Sydney one announced soon. Exciting!

9 thoughts on “Don’t panic yet

  1. Isn’t it adorable! It was $4 with a matching bracelet. I hope the girl who made it gets encouraged to make more and charge more. They are so cute and definitely worth more than $4! 🙂

  2. My sewjo (love that word) disappeared about a month ago for no good reason. I usually average at least one, and often two, garments per week but I’ve only sewn two in the past five weeks.

    • It’s frustrating isn’t it? I’m a beginner too which means I already sew quite slowly and have to prepare alot. So little sewing being done at the moment!

  3. That necklace is awesome! Is it sewn together or strung with wire? I love the colors…

    Whenever my sewjo disappears, I find that I can get going again by tackling my mending/refashion pile. Alternatively, I will pick a project that’s been kicking around in my brain and JUST START IT. Quite often, I then get the momentum to finish it and start something else.

    • Its fishing line I think, which helps the layering effect. I love it!

      I’ve started pattern cutting for a messenger bag and today I’m going to print a pyjama pants pattern while I’m at work. Hopefully by the weekend I will have several projects at ‘go’ point and no excuses! 🙂

  4. Haha, sewjo! I guess we all need a break sometimes even from the things we love, right?

    Btw I just found out that my posts may not be showing up in my subscribers’ WordPress Readers if they had subscribed before I changed my domain name (which I did 3 weeks ago). So I am now having to send this message to every subscriber before that time if they could kindly unsubscribe & resubscribe to my blog, by just unclicking and clicking on the “Following” button at the top of my page http://www.yourdailydoseblog.com

    I hate to bother everyone about this, but I really value your continued readership. Thank you so much and sorry for the inconvenience!! I really appreciate it!! 🙂
    – Janice

    • Strange that. I noticed a couple of weeks ago that a bunch of new subscriptions set “no emails” as a default which was just plain silly. If I click ‘follow’ I’m wanting emails! I’ve been getting all of yours I think…I’ll re-subscribe just to be sure 🙂

      • Well, your readers are lucky to have you then! 🙂

        I don’t subscribe to anyone by email because my blogroll has been fairly sizeable from the beginning and I couldn’t have my Blackberry going off so many times a day to notify me of posts. Some people post multiple times a day!! It’s scary, I haven’t wanted to add people because it’s too much to read sometimes and I’m pretty devoted to keeping up with my blogroll.

        Anyways! I hope you don’t mind if I add you but not follow by emails either 😉

        And thanks for resubscribing. This whole notification everyone process has been SO time consuming, but it’s also been interesting finding out who your loyal readers are =P

Leave a Reply

