The first projects

My first little project, made just before Christmas, was a reversible apron. It turned out way better than I expected and spurred me right on to do this thing properly!

        

I found the pattern for this apron here:

http://www.warehousefabricsinc.com/blog/reversible-scalloped-apron-tutorial/

and introduced myself to the amazing world of free internet printable patterns!

My second project arose out of necessity when a clean out produced three different stashes of plastic bags:

  

I was really excited to reuse a ribbon from a Chrissy present of choccies for this one, so turned a bit cutesie and made a mini one to match for the freezer bags I save from produce shopping:

I got the pattern for the main one here:

http://www.makeit-loveit.com/2009/01/grocery-bag-holder.html

There are so many of these on the net, I was amazed there were so many ways to store plastic bags!

Finally, the last thing I made before starting this blog was my first semi-complex pattern: a reversible handbag. The colours are abit out in these pics (the striped material is much calmer in reality…nowhere near as fluro!). I love the bag and have had a few compliments already. I think I could have used a thinner lining but overall I was very happy with it for a first go :)

      

The pattern for the bag can be found here:

http://www.warehousefabricsinc.com/blog/reversible-tie-top-handbag-tutorial/

So that’s it! That’s everything I have made since I bought the machine 6 weeks ago. I am hoping to blog about everything I make from here on in as it is made, hopefully showing progress :)

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “The first projects

  1. Pingback: Kindle cover « Cotton Handy

Leave a Reply

